Marley, Papas, Patitas

Greif:

noun

deep sorrow, especially that caused by someone’s death

These last couple of weeks have been an emotionally tough one for my family & I. We lost Marley, he wasn’t just our dog he was a member of our family & his absence has struck us all in such a heavy way. He entered our lives in December 2008, I still remember his tiny paws the day we went to pick him up. Those paws grew over time and with them the love we shared. He became such a pivotal part of our lives and home, he gave us all his love and devotion. I still struggle to get home to an empty house, not hearing him rush to the greet us. He will forever be apart of me, Marley was there through my darkest of times, I felt like I vented to him more than I did with anybody else. A close friend of mine gifted me a beautiful bracelet, in remembrance of him and to this day I have not taken it off. My love for my fur baby will forever be present.

Today we went to pick up his ashes & I’ve finally been able to bring him Home. I know that he is no longer physically here yet there was some type of comfort in bringing him home. I’ve personally never been through a loss that has hit me as hard as this one and to be honest its all just so foreign to me. One minute I’m going fine and the next minute I’m crying my eyes out at the thought of him no longer laying beside me or him flashing his beautiful Chocolate eyes when he wanted me to hold him or Better yet when he would nudge me with his snout because he wanted some of my food. Loss & Grief is a strange thing. But like one of my favorite Super Hero couples once said ““But what is grief, if not love persevering?” and I find some comfort in that.

Leave a comment